You can cancel a DBS application on behalf of an applicant at any point up until it has been submitted for verification.
There are various reasons why you may need to cancel an application. It may have been submitted for verification with incorrect details (you may edit some applicant details before submission), or it just may not be required any more.
In order to cancel an application please follow the below steps:
1. Search for the application using 'Applicant Search' then on the search result underneath click on the applicant's hyperlinked name.
2. A pop up box will show you some available actions. Click on 'Cancel application'. If you change your mind you can close the box or edit the application details.
3. Finally, enter a comment and click 'Cancel Application'.
The application has now been cancelled.
Please note that the system will auto-cancel any in progress applications after the allotted deadline for completion has passed (the default for this is 3 months, unless an applicant has selected a form of ID for verification which expires before this time).